top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClarissa

Time for a Polish

Updated: Jan 25, 2021

Times are rough. We hit slumps and bounce back only to be found in ruts all over again. It’s the opening of our own hearts to accept the little things that can provide us with the spirit we have lost. It’s trusting in the good. It’s trusting that there are others who will cheer for you and always could.


Behind, Yet Shined


I am behind, behind on this journey of writing my blogs. A blog once a month I promised myself. Life got in the way. It’s like I’ve been sitting on a bookshelf. A friend asked, “Behind according to who?” “That’s right!” I thought quickly. Only I can make it be due. No, I haven’t kept the end of my own bargain. It’s been a mental challenge to enthusiastically engage in. The days have gone by with my smiles and positivity but all with a lack of luminous jollity.


The lack of shine and sparkle from my innermost being has been an unwelcome and serious haunting. It was not me. It was not what I liked to see. Is it life on the screen? Is it lack of interaction with others both personally and professionally?


Whatever this tarnish is, it has been wiped clean. Tarnished I am no longer. Your tarnish, too, can take a stroll down yonder.


Polish for the Tarnish


It will come back, though. It will take over our spirit and dim our glow. It, the tarnish, can creep up so slow. Where does it come from? Why is it there? Well, we are the ones who bargain with its taunting flare. It takes challenging situations and personalities to knock us down. Life’s downs also linger and sometimes with a notable frown. It really is up to us to get out of the funk. Let’s get out of the fuss and woe is me junk. But with our own bargaining, our own reflection, if we dare, comes the goodness of individuals to provide some polish, I swear.


This polish I found this week in the background.


“I remember your PD in 2018 when you first started. It was wonderful. I’m happy you are still

with this district.”

Former classroom teacher; current math coach


“Thank you for telling me that. No one has ever shared that with me. It makes me feel a whole lot better. Thank you for caring enough.”

Kindergarten teacher


“You got this. You of all people I know are rooted in strength.”

Friend


“Well, you’re my cup of tea!”

Colleague


“Bless your precious heart. Your words are very much appreciated.”

Intervention Teacher


I call it polish, polish to get rid of the tarnish. Polish is realistic, though. The tarnish returns because we are alive. We are affected by the ups, the downs, and the interceptions to thrive. Nonetheless, a nice, smooth polish from the most random of situations can wipe the stains off so many subdued frustrations.


The Can Is There!


Where is this polish I write of that is so fine? When can we find ourselves ready to be brought back to a shine? The can of polish is there! The can of polish is everywhere! It takes us, though, some reflection to be aware.


We must be aware!

We are the only ones who can crawl

out of an apathetic sense

of defeat and despair.


Look to your right. Look to your left. Accept the words you feel have been part of a theft. Gone they are not. Dangling in front of you they are. While stains can return, these words are a shining star. They can, if you allow them, bring back your spark, bring back your strength, and bring back your mark. We are alive. We tarnish a bit. We hurt. We harden. We’re hell bent on throwing a fit. But, the polish from people is present, I have to admit. Oh, but beware. Some polish is counterfeit.


Just Open the Cabinet


We all have some tarnished silver to grab a hold of to brighten back up. We are silver with tarnishing, too. There is polish among us to add to our hue. The polish I was lucky enough to receive was the genuine language from the angels around me. Words so common, yet they shimmered like jewels. I’m glad my hardened tarnish was polished anew. Let’s not wait for the film to thicken. Let’s open our hearts to being polished and stricken. Stricken by the words some may never know are awarded to healing our spirit and soul as we are afforded. We open the cabinet and grab a hold of that trusty polish. It’s always there, waiting to astonish. The bargaining is in our court. We either stain away or be open to the spiritual support.


Behind on my blogposts, I feel I am no longer. I thank myself for welcoming some polish to make me stronger.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page